small steps backwards

Can I do it?

Leave a comment

It is April 14th and I have just over $20 left in the monthly grocery budget*. In an effort to save money on organic, whole foods, I bought several items in bulk this month. This is great in that I won’t need to purchase coconut oil, olive oil, black beans, rolled oats, brown rice or whole wheat flour for several months. But not so great in that I spent about half of our budget on these items.

So can I do it? Can I stay in budget for the next two weeks? I think with a little extra effort in planning and preparing our meals I can.

*We budget $200 a month for groceries and toiletries. We eat organic, whole foods as much as possible. This is a tight budget (especially since our one year old is eating almost as much as mom and dad!) but manageable.

Leave a Reply

