small steps backwards

Coconut rice and beans

3 Comments

This is a very favorite of ours for a simple, nourishing meal. I tasted something like this at a friend’s house, then created my own recipe based on what I thought was in it and what we had at home. This makes enough for two meals for our family.

I tend to cook food to taste, rather than use exact measurements. These are the measurements I used last time but it probably changes a little every time. I usually use leftover black beans and I try to soak the rice for optimal nutrition.

Coconut rice and beans
1 cup brown rice, uncooked
1 can full fat coconut milk
1/4 medium onion, chopped finely
1-2 cups cooked black turtle beans
sea salt to taste
  1. Combine rice, coconut milk, and onion in medium pot.
  2. Bring to boil then let simmer on low for about 45 minutes, until rice is cooked.
  3. Stir in cooked beans and sea salt to taste. Let sit in covered pot for about 3-5 minutes. Enjoy!

I’ll add a picture next time I prepare this! Find more delicious ideas over here.

3 thoughts on “Coconut rice and beans

  1. Nice! I love rice cooked in coconut milk! Thanks for being part of the carnival!

  2. What a wonderful idea! I love pilaf/pulao made of coconut milk, adding the beans to it makes it more nutritious.

  3. this looks amazing! i recently had coconut rice at a restaurant and am obsessed. will definitely try this!

Leave a Reply

